Route 66 Scenic Byway Programs


Scenic byways programs are grass-roots collaborative efforts to recognize outstanding roadways such as Route 66. Communities typically work closely with local and state agencies including their state department of transportation and tourism office to preserve and promote the unique qualities and character of the road.

Several types of designation exist at both national and state levels. The National Scenic Byways Program is part of the U.S. Department of Transportation, Federal Highway Administration and recognizes certain roads as All-American Roads or National Scenic Byways based on one or more archeological, cultural, historic, natural, recreational and scenic qualities. State scenic byway designation is often the first step in applying to the FHWA for National Scenic Byway designation. Below are current byway designations by state.



Illinois Route 66 National Scenic Byway

Oklahoma Route 66 National Scenic Byway

New Mexico Route 66 National Scenic Byway

Arizona Route 66 All American Road



Missouri Route 66 State Scenic Byway

Kansas Historic Route 66 Byway


Other Resources

National Scenic Byway Program

Scenic America

Route 66 Scenic Byway Corridor Management Plans