Do Not Migrate

2009 Award Entry Announcement

The Society for History in the Federal Government (SHFG) invites entries for its’:

John Wesley Powell Prize (Historic Preservation)

 The award alternates annually in recognizing excellence in the fields of historical display and historic preservation.  Entries submitted in 2009 should be for historic preservation projects completed in 2008–2009 by or for units of the Federal government.

The award for historic preservation is given for achievement in preservation of records, artifacts, buildings, historical sites, and other historical entities.  The Powell prize is given to either an individual or to principal collaborators for a single major effort completed within the two calendar years immediately preceding the year in which the award is announced. The winner will be announced in the spring of 2010 at the annual meeting of the SHFG.

Prize Eligible Entrants

  • Any agency or unit of the Federal government.
  • Nongovernmental organizations, including Federal contractors, for eligible activities on behalf of a unit of the Federal government.
  • Members of the SHFG

Deadline for Submission of Entries

Entries should be submitted to the John Wesley Powell award committee by November 15.   Due to an error on the website announcement, limited flexibility will be allowed in the submission date.  Contact the committee for an extension of the deadline.

See the SHFG website at for further specifics on submission requirements.


National Center for Preservation Technology and Training
645 University Parkway
Natchitoches, LA 71457

Email: ncptt[at]
Phone: (318) 356-7444
Fax: (318) 356-9119